Frustration

Pretty generic, right? I have a 2.5 year old son and I’m 5 months pregnant. I’m frustrated. I try to do all the cute little activities online (like this one – http://www.notimeforflashcards.com/2009/03/fine-motor-friday.html) and it lasts all of 2 seconds. I show him an example of what to do, he does that example, that gets boring after one second, and he rips the whole thing. He’s chucking duplos across the room, pulling on my arm with all of his weight, to take me 12 inches across the room for no apparent reason. Some days, I just get frustrated, and I want to give up and throw on some Sesame Street so I can have a few minutes of peace and drink a hot cup of something (probably half caff, yeah, even though I’m pregnant. I drink coffee and even, sometimes, eat sushi.) All of those mom bloggers who are like, “Embrace the chaos. Dance in the disaster. Oh, motherhood.” in their hipster way. Do they have a child like mine? He can’t be the only one. I don’t know.

Frustration

2 thoughts on “Frustration

  1. I hope it’s OK if I comment. That is my son in the post ( almost 6 years ago ) and I should probably apologize. While he did work on THIS activity for ages that was not the norm for him or any 2.5 year olds or how he normally did activities. It was a huge hit that day. Most days were 30 second activities. Some were eat the paint and refuse to do a thing days. That was before I was pregnant with his sister and also drinking coffee. Then I would pop him in bed with me and an ipod and let him watch Peppa Pig on Youtube while I dozed. He watched so much Peppa Pig he had a slight accent by the time his sister was born. I am so sorry if my post made you feel like crap.

    Like

    1. Nicole says:

      Aww, you are so sweet to follow up on this. Thank you for your encouraging comment. And the funny tidbit about Peppa Pig. I so appreciate you reaching out to me. I certainly felt frustrated trying to do that activity with my son. Thank you.

      Like

Leave a comment